DearQueer~ Paying for a Single Mom?

Gayly Giving Advice Straight from the Heart~ August 2023

Candra Anaya
5 min readAug 18, 2023
DearQueer logo design by Danika Corrall

DearQueer,

When you date a single mom, do you offer to pay for the babysitter’s fees? I figure if she’s willing to pay money to spend what little alone time she has with me, the least I can do is offer to chip in. Especially if I invite her out and not the other way around. I want to take her time into consideration, but also I don’t want to offend her or overstep. I don’t have any kids myself, so I’m not sure where the line is.

Signed,

A Penny for Your Thoughts

Photo by Gio Bartlett on Unsplash

Hey Penny,

As a single mom myself, I find your offer incredibly thoughtful. Personally, I have never once heard of any single-mom friends having this dilemma. So let’s break it down- the good and the bad.

The bad: Most individuals I know have experienced serious issues around money at some point in their life. Whether growing up with the lack-thereof, or the other end of the spectrum of being privileged and unaware of the cost of things, money management is a learned behavior that many people have not been…

--

--

Candra Anaya

Advice columnist, DearQueer~ Gayly Giving Advice Straight from the Heart. Co-author of bestseller, The Life-Changing Power of Self-Love. https://CandraAnaya.com